The Weekend Pathway / Favorite Study Spot On Campus

ismael_studyHello all! For those of you who don’t know me, I am a PWYI in the Weekend Pathway of the Pharm.D. program at the Duquesne University School of Pharmacy. We start and finish the professional phase at the same time as the weekday students…but how?! First of all, we all already have Bachelor’s degrees. I received mine from Duquesne this past December! We have all the same classes as Weekday students, but instead of having them all at the same time, we have them one-by-one, every Saturday and Sunday. Sometimes they overlap with due dates and such, but usually they don’t. Each weekend is about one month’s worth of weekday information. Once one class is done, we start the next one that same afternoon.

Sounds nice, right? Not all the time. Our classes range from three-to-five weeks, and we have exams every Saturday (like a permanent midterm/finals week for three years). In the beginning, the Weekday students had already taken their first exam a week before us, but then two weeks later, still in October, we were already wrapping the course up with the final! We have long days–up to 10 hours long–but it gives us a lot of time during the week to work or study at our leisure.

Depending on how much we work, it is important to establish a study schedule to get through all of the information they packed into our brains in such a short time. There are never enough hours in a day to get all of the studying done we wish to, so it is crucial to plan! A technique that I found to work was to get up early in the morning, head to campus, and study there. I am way too distracted at home to do anything, and I’m tempted to sleep all day, so that doesn’t work! Getting out of bed is the hardest part, and if I don’t have anywhere to go then I won’t ever leave it.

After I study (or at least try to) for a few hours, I take an hour to an hour and a half to exercise and re-charge my brain. I do that in the Power Center. That’s where I study too! The Power Center has always been my favorite place to study–not that stress-ridden library! I love coming in nice and early and getting the entire third or fourth floor study lounge to myself. No one really knows about them, and I’d like to keep it that way, but writing this may just ruin that for me! They are clean, big, bright and colorful. The chairs are cozy, and the room is happy. I’ve never been a fan of the library, and I’m so glad my favorite place on campus has floors to exercise AND study!

So that’s what I do. It’s really nice to not have to worry about a class to get to, it’s really all up to me what I do, where I go, and when I go there. That “freedom” is kind of nice! The amount of studying is sometimes overwhelming, and that’s all of us, not just the Weekenders, but we can’t let that get to us. Failing to plan is planning to fail! And failing is not an option here (or we have to repeat that class, and we don’t want that). Happy studying!

Leave a Reply

